Deer Lodge Centre Foundation was established in 1990 to raise awareness and funds for programs, services, and research at Deer Lodge Centre.

Deer Lodge Centre provides health services to adults with complex needs in the areas of Rehabilitation, Chronic Care, Dementia Care, Mental Health and Bariatrics. They support the needs of clients in a variety of ways including inpatient programming, outpatient clinics and residential care.

Deer Lodge Centre has a long and proud history of caring and an ongoing commitment to the health care needs of the Canadian Forces and Veterans. Established in 1916 as a military convalescent hospital for returning WWI soldiers, today veterans continue to be treated alongside a large population of patients and residents from the broader community. One hundred fifty-five personal care beds are maintained exclusively for veterans under a Federal and Provincial agreement.

Since changing from an acute general hospital to a facility caring for adult patients with complex needs, Deer Lodge Centre has become the largest rehabilitation and long-term care facility in Manitoba, with a bed capacity of 487. In 2002, the Centre became an operating division of the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.

Your support will make a real difference in the lives of the Veterans, patients, and residents who call Deer Lodge Centre home.


Deer Lodge Health Centre Foundation will invest in health excellence, inspired by its long-standing legacy of service to Veterans, motivated by the staff’s commitment to improving the lives of Manitobans.


To be the public face of the Deer Lodge Health Centre by raising funds for innovative programs and to improve the lives of Manitobans including Veterans.


We develop and nurture meaningful relationships with donors and the community to serve the common good.


We are accountable for everything we do.


We find creative ways to fund and invest in Deer Lodge Health Centre’s mission.

Board of Directors

Jim Kurz, Chair
Chris Daman, Vice Chair
Ainsley Donald, Treasurer
Jason Alsip
Ronn Anderson
Kevin Scott
Hymie Weinstein
Nicholas Woelcke
Samar Zeid
Tracy Koga
Adam R. Kilfoyle
Karen Buss
Jennifer Chorney

Foundation Team

Nicole LaTourelle, Executive Director
Lindsay Gillanders, Communications
Alicia Faucher, Development Coordinator
Karen Savage, Executive Assistant, Admin & Gift Processing
Tony Mariani, Major Gifts